Devil’s Food cake

I didn’t know about this cake until I have tried the premade version in the supermarket. It was the most fluffy and moist cake that I tried so I had to make it as my 21st Birthday cake.

This Devil’s food cake has a basis of a fluffy and super moist cake batter which can be tricky to manipulate as it is easily breakable. I covered it with chocolate buttercream, white fondant stars and some decoration candies.


For 6 people serving: (double the ingredients amount if a bigger cake is wanted)

Ingredients
– 150 g flour 
– 1/2 teaspoon (2.5 g) of salt
– 1/2 pack (5g) of baking powder for cakes
– 75g unsweetened cocoa powder
– 125-150 g sugar
– 30 ml hot coffee diluted in 90 ml of hot water*
– 110 ml olive oil
– 120 ml of milk**
– 2 eggs
– 1/2 teaspoon (2.5 ml) of vanilla extract

* 120 ml of hot coffee can be used for a stronger coffee taste. Coffee is used as a chocolate taste enhancer.

**Buttermilk can be used but sugar amount should be decreased by at least 50g. For a lactose free solution, use any milk substitute or hot water.

Instructions
1. Preheat oven to 180 degree Celsius.
2. In a large bowl whisk together dry ingredients.
3. Add the diluted coffee, oil and milk and mix until combined.
4. Add eggs and vanilla and mix for another 2 minutes.
5. Pour batter into a greased and floured 25 cm round baking pan.
6. Bake for 30 minutes

7. Let cool in pans until warm and then remove from pan and allow to cool completely on a cooling rack.
8. While the cake is cooling prepare the chocolate buttercream (see buttercream recipe).
9. Add the buttercream on top of the cake using a spatula or a flat knife.
10. Decorate the cake and serve.

cake

ENJOY!

 

If you have any suggestions about what I should make next…Please leave a comment below 🙂

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Alwine says:

    I HAVE to test this cake, as my lovely sister has never baked it when I was home :p I will try a gluten-free version and I will put the modified recipe here if it is successful 😀

    Like

    1. Haha…tell me how it goes! I was pleasantly surprised when I first baked it! Need to remake it soon…I kinda miss it 🙂

      Like

  2. Alwine says:

    I finally tried this recipe with gluten-free flours \o/ I like it, the cake is very moist but I don’t think it is as fluffy as yours :p
    Here are my modifications : instead of the classic flour, I used a mix of 80gr of rice flour, 25gr of buckwheat flour and 45gr of potato starsh (but we can use any type of starch and change the buckwheat flour for another flour – like chestnut flour – or juste put more rice flour if we don’t have another gluten-free flour). I also put another 30ml of milk in the mix otherwise it is too dry. Finally, as I was lazy, I just melt 100gr of chocolate on it instead of doing the buttercream 🙂
    Thank you for the recipe !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

